[Solved] Access VPN server as client on TAP device

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
graphik_

[Solved] Access VPN server as client on TAP device

Post by graphik_ » Sun Aug 15, 2021 2:01 pm

Hello community,

I am relatively new to Softhethers advanced features and I hope someone can help me to find my issue.
I like to start with my goal:

In general I want to connect to my softether VPN server and get routet to a MITM proxy which should listen on the VPN servers interfaces.
In detail I like to use softethers build-in DHCP server so that I do not setup a seperate on and I do not require access to the connected LAN in general.

So I planned my idea and randomly found this instruction: https://sites.google.com/view/softether-dhcp-bridge
It describes an issue which could occour if a local bridge is created and the softether DHCP is used.

My issue:
I setup everything like in the linked instruction except step A. I think the bridge interface is not necessary for my goal.
This means:
- I have two VPN hubs which are connected through the cascading feature (it's set to "online" too)
- One local bridge which connects the server side VPN hub with a tap interface
- SecureNAT enabled for the client side VPN hub but without SecureNAT, ony for DHCP usage
- blocked DHCP to be transmitted to the server side VPN hub to staz save with my LAN
- Additionally I added an IP address to the tap interface (ip addr add 192.168.42.1/32 dev tap_vpn)

Now I am able to establish the VPN connection and ping the servers VPN ip (192.168.30.1) but I am not able to access the tap interface 192.168.42.1.
I also tried to enable ip forwarding (sysctl -w net.ipv4.ip_forward=1) with the hope that the routing was disabled in some way but it didn't help.
For me it looks like that the client VPN hub is not properly routed into the server side VPN hub but I am not able to identify or debug this in any way.