Full service lock up, impossible to stop, server hangs on shutdown

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Mastiff

Full service lock up, impossible to stop, server hangs on shutdown

Post by Mastiff » Fri Jul 16, 2021 8:04 am

This is weird. Very weird. I have been running for years (since 2015, I believe) and nothing remarkable has happened. But this morning I suddenly got a very slow connection to the running server on my Windows Server 2019, with a Supermicro motherboard and an Xeon Silver 4210 (no overclocking or funny stuff like that, it's more then fast enough for ten VM's and I want 100 % stability). So I started getting it up and running.

First I tried to take the server offline, but that locked up the server manager completely and I had to close the manager window.

When I tried to restart Softether as a service, it wasn't able to. The small window stood on "shutting down service" a long while, but I got an error message saying that it took too long. Regular shutdown of the Softether service takes seconds.

Next step was to try to use Task manager (as administrator), but that didn't help either. It didn't close the process, and on details it just says "Not allowed", which I guess is because it's ran by system.

Third step was to restart Windows Server. No way. It locked up on "Shutting down" screen. I finally had to do it physically (which I don't think I've ever had to do with that server before). Then I turned it on again and tried to install the latest version of Softether (I had one maybe half a year back, or something). But the installation program was unable to close Softether to get access to the executable and upgrade it.