SoftEther VPN Bridge fails to forward VLAN IDs

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
KFrische
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 11:39 am

SoftEther VPN Bridge fails to forward VLAN IDs

Post by KFrische » Sun Jul 19, 2015 5:51 pm

Using latest version, configure a HUB using the VPN Server and define a user with a VLAN ID.
Create a bridge from that HUB to any local NIC.
Login to the VPN server using the Client.
View the sessions via "Manage Sessions".

The VLAN ID is shown for the user but the Bridge has no VLAN shown; appears as "-".
When using wireshark; it is clear that the Bridge does not forward the VLAN IDs.

This is a major flaw in the bridging.

I have tested this using Intel, Broadcom, and other NICs. As well, I've tested using Windows 7, 8.1, and Windows 2012 R2, as well as in a Hyper-V image (W7 or Windows 2012 R2).

The goal would be to forward VLAN IDs through the Bridge to the NIC to allow VLANs to be used on VLAN networks accessible by the NIC.

The documentation appears to imply that it is supposed to do this (shows a picture where all the bridges show VLAN IDs instead of "-") but in excessive testing I've never seen a bridge connection show a VLAN id.

Can anyone help me on this?

It appears the only way to use VLANs in SoftEther is by having multiple clients access a hub with the same vlan id. That seems quite limiting. They can talk to each other but cannot talk to through the VPN Server's local NIC.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

kh_tsang
Posts: 551
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 12:09 pm

Re: SoftEther VPN Bridge fails to forward VLAN IDs

Post by kh_tsang » Mon Jul 20, 2015 3:52 am

The packet sending to the client through the NIC must be tagged with VLAN 3.
The packet sending from the client through the NIC will be tagged with VLAN 3.
I cannot see any error here.

Please make sure you add services to the VLANs properly.

I think you should have more understanding about VLAN.
https://www.google.com.hk/search?q=VLAN ... mwWs0IKgDA

thisjun
Posts: 2103
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:03 am

Re: SoftEther VPN Bridge fails to forward VLAN IDs

Post by thisjun » Thu Jul 30, 2015 6:41 am

You should create one more virtual HUB and cascade.

KFrische
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 11:39 am

Re: SoftEther VPN Bridge fails to forward VLAN IDs

Post by KFrische » Mon Aug 17, 2015 3:41 pm

Interesting.
Create another hub and cascade in from there. That works. A bit of a kludge in my opinion, but OK.

So, if I had multiple VLANs being used by one hub.
The other Hub could bridge those VLAN IDs through the NIC using multiple cascades.

Thanks for thinking outside the box.

sky59
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: SoftEther VPN Bridge fails to forward VLAN IDs

Post by sky59 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:05 am

Kfrische,

Could you please explain how to make thisvnew hub and cascade it?

Post Reply