How many Ethernet ports to I need to setup a server or a bridge?

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
amsga
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 17, 2018 2:18 am

How many Ethernet ports to I need to setup a server or a bridge?

Post by amsga » Thu May 17, 2018 2:35 am

Hi all,

I am trying out the LAN to LAN bridging feature and the Remote Access feature.
One thing I am very confused about is the number of Ethernet ports I need for each system.
I want to set up the configurations proper so I can test and see if this is a viable option for me.

My current server has only one Ethernet port connected to the network and the internet via a router.
I have set it up as the bridge to the Virtual Hub.

My Remote Access test system can connect without any issues, less the connection speed.

My LAN to LAN test system on the other hand seems to have very intermittent connection to my server.
It is using the same Ethernet port for the internet as well as local bridge which I am not sure if it is correct or not.
It is also behind the router.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

amsga
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 17, 2018 2:18 am

Re: How many Ethernet ports to I need to setup a server or a bridge?

Post by amsga » Mon May 21, 2018 1:31 pm

Anyone can help me?

I still cannot get a stable connection across the bridges.

The transfer rate is less than 1Mbps.

thisjun
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:03 am

Re: How many Ethernet ports to I need to setup a server or a bridge?

Post by thisjun » Fri Jun 01, 2018 6:18 am

It depends on the purpose of the VPN.
However, I think one ethernet port is at least for your case.

amsga
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 17, 2018 2:18 am

Re: How many Ethernet ports to I need to setup a server or a bridge?

Post by amsga » Mon Jun 04, 2018 2:42 am

[quote=thisjun post_id=79405 time=1527833917 user_id=5893]
It depends on the purpose of the VPN.
However, I think one ethernet port is at least for your case.
[/quote]

The purpose of the LAN to LAN VPN is to provide a means for 2 site offices which are far away from each other, a means of sharing data via the central office server. As such, some of the larger files (100+ MB) that is required to be shared happens to drop in the middle of transfer.

The same goes for the Remote Access VPN, which is to provide a means for our offsite engineers to access files from our central server.

qupfer
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:07 pm

Re: How many Ethernet ports to I need to setup a server or a bridge?

Post by qupfer » Mon Jun 04, 2018 9:29 am

One Ethernet Port is normaly enough for a VPN Server.

cedar
Site Admin
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 5:37 am

Re: How many Ethernet ports to I need to setup a server or a bridge?

Post by cedar » Mon Jun 04, 2018 9:33 am

If the underlying layer is unreliable, it is difficult to improve the reliability of the VPN.
Try using a copy tool that can be restarted after an error such as robocopy.

centeredki69
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:49 pm

Re: How many Ethernet ports to I need to setup a server or a bridge?

Post by centeredki69 » Thu Jun 21, 2018 6:45 pm

@ AMSGA

Did you get this resolved? If not with a little more info I might be able to help. When you say LAN to LAN do you mean you are using the casscade connection feature in Softether to make the LAN to LAN connection?

Let me know if you want help?

Post Reply