Simple Layer 3 test making me feel stupid

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
Railtracer
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 7:09 am

Simple Layer 3 test making me feel stupid

Post by Railtracer » Sat Dec 23, 2017 8:38 am

I thought I understood layer 3 routing just fine, as well as softethers implementation of it, but I must have done something wrong. Quick breakdown:

My network: 192.168.0 subnet
Coworker network: 192.168.1 subnet

Hub 1 on my windows 7 based softether hyperv virtual server is for my 192.168.0 subnet activity and it works wonderfully bridged through a hyperv virtual NIC in promiscuous mode.

Hub 2 i recently made for my coworker to cascade to from his server and his network is 192.168.1 subnet

I have created a layer 3 virtual switch with two interfaces. 192.168.0.254 for my subnets interface on hub1, 192.168.1.254 for my coworkers network on hub 2.

The cascade from his server to hub 2 is successful. On that session I can see the ip table with his 192.168.1 subnet addresses.

I have set a static route on my tp link router for 192.168.1.0 subnet with 192.168.0.254 as the next hop.

I can ping the 192.168.0.254 and 192.168.1.254 interfaces from a machine on my network, so i assumed the layer 3 virtual switch was working.

Tracert will read 1: 192.168.0.50 (my router) 2: 192.168.0.254 3: 192.168.1.254 if i run it against 192.168.1.254

If I try to ping any of the ip's of any active machines on my coworkers network they will fail. I cant seem to be able to ping anything that resides on his physical network, only the interface on my layer 3 virtual switch. I keep reading through the documentation for using softethers layer 3 routing and I seem to be following it to a T.

Does anyone see any issues with how I have configured my virtual layer 3 switch and tp link router? At this point I am thinking my coworkers local bridge on his server is where my problem lies.

Does the fact that I can ping the 192.168.1.254 interface effectively prove that I have a functioning layer 3 route to the 192.168.1.0/24 network assuming that there is one within the scope of the hubs involved with my layer 3 virtual switch? I feel like it does but perhaps I am wrong.

thisjun
Posts: 2508
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:03 am

Re: Simple Layer 3 test making me feel stupid

Post by thisjun » Fri Jan 05, 2018 5:47 am

Did you add route on coworker's office?

Railtracer
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 7:09 am

Re: Simple Layer 3 test making me feel stupid

Post by Railtracer » Mon Jan 08, 2018 8:53 pm

Thanks for the response, let me update you on what ended up happening.

Just for fun, I added a local bridge to my network on the virtual hub that I built for my coworkers cascade connection to connect to. I then manually set one of my local machines to his subnet with his router as my gateway, to prove the layer 2 connectivity, and with that I was able to ping and access his network just fine. With this access, I configured a static route to my network on his router, and tested some pings back to my own network and found that they worked just fine.

So I discovered the virtual layer 3 switch was working, but only from his network to mine. Here is where it gets stupid. I needed to replace a power outlet on the same circuit as my server, so I shut it down and did my work. When I brought it back up all the layer 3 routing was running fine, with no changes made at all. So even though I cant prove it, I feel like there might be some kind of bug with the virtual layer 3 switches when they are created that may at times require a service restart before they function

sozasobo
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:40 am

Re: Simple Layer 3 test making me feel stupid

Post by sozasobo » Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:42 am

On the basis of new concepts you have the idea to see the test tactics dealing with you. Moreover there is https://aussiessayservices.com/academic ... au-review/ the link that is giving us more details.

jeroldwinslow
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 6:31 am
Contact:

Re: Simple Layer 3 test making me feel stupid

Post by jeroldwinslow » Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:59 am

Most recommended assignment assist around the world is assignment ply assistance. Foreclose yourself from low grades and accomplish upper assess in your academics at peak charge and you can work our sufferer acquire assignment service assistance at normal toll.
https://www.studentsassignmenthelp.com/ ... -services/

Post Reply