LAN-to-LAN VPN (Using L3 IP Routing) problem

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
yusuf
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:08 am

LAN-to-LAN VPN (Using L3 IP Routing) problem

Post by yusuf » Sat Dec 16, 2017 7:16 am

Dear All,

I have setup LAN-to-LAN VPN for the network 172.16.100.0/24 and 172.18.100.0/24. Everything as stated in the manual https://www.softether.org/4-docs/1-manu ... P_Routing)

I set static routes on both the main network(Plasa) and the remote networks(Hexa). I have setup Virtual interface for Hexa 172.18.100.251 and Plasa 172.16.100.251 . Static Routes 172.16.100.0 outgoing interface 172.16.100.253 and 172.18.100.0 outgoing interface 172.18.100.251.The layer 3 switch is up and functional connected between the main network virtual hub, and the virtual hub that's connected to by the remote LANs. The remote LANs have cascade connection to the virtual hub on the main server, exactly as the guide instructs.

Each hub shows it's connections to the other LANs and they each are loading the IP tables properly, Please see the snapshot

Plasa Server (172.16.100.35) i have added following routes

route add 172.16.100.0 mask 255.255.255.0 172.16.100.35 -p

route add 172.16.100.0 mask 255.255.255.0 172.16.100.251 metric 10

Hexa Bridge (172.18.100.178) i have added following routes

route add 172.18.100.0 mask 255.255.255.0 172.18.100.178 -p

route add 172.18.100.0 mask 255.255.255.0 172.18.100.251 metric 10

Observation :

I can ping both interface ip (172.16.100.251 & 172.18.100.251) and can ping both server (172.16.100.35 & 172.16.100.178).

I can't ping any of the ip in the subnet (172.16.100.0/24 & 172.16.18.0/24 ) except interface and server ip

I hope Please Any one help me to fix the problem ?
Attachments
VPN Server Hub 1.JPG
VPN Bridge 172.18.100.178.JPG
Network Diagram.JPG

yusuf
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:08 am

Re: LAN-to-LAN VPN (Using L3 IP Routing) problem

Post by yusuf » Sat Dec 16, 2017 7:18 am

Please Refer the Snapshot
Attachments
VPN Server Local Bridge.JPG
VPN Server Layer 3 switch.JPG
VPN Server 172.16.100.35.PNG

Retinaquester2
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 11:53 am

Re: LAN-to-LAN VPN (Using L3 IP Routing) problem

Post by Retinaquester2 » Fri Jun 08, 2018 7:42 pm

Hi,

Did you ever got this one sorted out?
It looks identical to my problem.

And I have seen quite a few people more with issues on the L3-Switch.

The L3 switch feels like Padora's Box, you put something in it,
and you have no idea what is does on the inside.

thisjun
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:03 am

Re: LAN-to-LAN VPN (Using L3 IP Routing) problem

Post by thisjun » Thu Jun 21, 2018 7:08 am

Could you show your configurations?

Retinaquester2
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 11:53 am

Re: LAN-to-LAN VPN (Using L3 IP Routing) problem

Post by Retinaquester2 » Thu Jun 21, 2018 7:51 pm

I got it going. So thanks for checking up

centeredki69
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:49 pm

Re: LAN-to-LAN VPN (Using L3 IP Routing) problem

Post by centeredki69 » Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:01 pm

@ yusuf

I think you might need to create a " local Bridge " at the remote HEXA Location. Your screen shots look like you did at the Plea server location.

Retinaquester2
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 11:53 am

Re: LAN-to-LAN VPN (Using L3 IP Routing) problem

Post by Retinaquester2 » Fri Jun 22, 2018 7:59 am

@ yusuf

You have setup a routing table in the L3 switch.
This is not needed for the Topology you provided.

172.18.100.0 and 172.16.100.0 are both represented by the respective
Virtual Interfaces, so the L3-Switch knows where to send the packets,
additional routing only confuses things.

Post Reply