SoftEther Site to Site with Cisco ASA 5520

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
SAMbI4
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 11:56 am

Re: SoftEther Site to Site with Cisco ASA 5520

Post by SAMbI4 » Wed Jul 29, 2015 12:02 pm

same question....somebody make it?

SAMbI4
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 11:56 am

Re: SoftEther Site to Site with Cisco ASA 5520

Post by SAMbI4 » Fri Jul 31, 2015 7:59 am

?

SAMbI4
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 11:56 am

Re: SoftEther Site to Site with Cisco ASA 5520

Post by SAMbI4 » Mon Aug 03, 2015 8:12 pm

up again....

sgunnestad
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 5:08 pm

Re: SoftEther Site to Site with Cisco ASA 5520

Post by sgunnestad » Tue Oct 16, 2018 5:53 pm

Noone has ever gotten this to work? The article at https://www.softether.org/4-docs/2-howt ... uter_Setup seems lacking, even though the Cisco solution is boasted as the best solution.
AFAIK, the L2TP tunnel should be terminated to a virtual HUB as per the diagram, even if connecting with a L2TP device?
Image

I don't see that there is an IP to assign to the L2TP device/tunnel in the Virtual Layer 3 Switch for the remote site.
Also, I don't see what ethernet device the Local Bridge should connect to for the remote site (Osaka in the diagram)
Any hints would be appreciated.

I have read all of the documentation on this without finding any good solution.

Fork1337
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:17 am

Re: SoftEther Site to Site with Cisco ASA 5520

Post by Fork1337 » Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:21 am

I'm having the exact same issue as sgunnestad.
Any solution here?

thisjun
Posts: 2200
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:03 am

Re: SoftEther Site to Site with Cisco ASA 5520

Post by thisjun » Thu Nov 01, 2018 6:40 am

Localbridge can't bridge to a remote site.
Localbridge is for local bridging as its name suggests.

sgunnestad
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 5:08 pm

Re: SoftEther Site to Site with Cisco ASA 5520

Post by sgunnestad » Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:44 pm

So how is the Cisco unit supposed to authenticate to the L3 Switch?

Is this supposed to work at all? Reading from
https://www.softether.org/4-docs/2-howt ... olution%3F
Image

Why does it not exist any good manual for this? It seems other people who have tried to get this working have given up?
If I get it working I will publish a proper guide.

Regards

thisjun
Posts: 2200
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:03 am

Re: SoftEther Site to Site with Cisco ASA 5520

Post by thisjun » Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:06 am

Which L3 switch are you asking about?

sgunnestad
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 5:08 pm

Re: SoftEther Site to Site with Cisco ASA 5520

Post by sgunnestad » Sat Nov 17, 2018 1:46 pm

The Cisco endpoints are authenticating to something at the central site. Doing this with bridge mode works well but I fail to understand how to configure this with routing.

Post Reply