Trunkport LAN to LAN Bridge

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
vpnnew123
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 10:43 am

Trunkport LAN to LAN Bridge

Post by vpnnew123 » Wed May 09, 2018 10:50 am

Hi,

I'm struggling to get VLANs running over LAN to LAN Bridge. I have a VPN server at Site A and VPN Bridge in Site B. Both running on Linux. Using a normal access port in VLAN X on the local bridges works fine. Hosts in Site B receive IP from our DHCP in Site A. Now I want to have at least two VLANs in Site B. One for host and one for Phone. As soon as I configure the switch ports that are connected to the local bridges to be trunk ports allowing the two VLANs the hosts in Site B no longer receive an IP. :( Do I need to setup 802.1q on both the VPN Server and the VPN Bridge in the Linux OS? I mean create an interface for each VLAN that I need and create a local bridge for each VLAN? The docs are not quite clear here.

Please help.

vpnnew123
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 10:43 am

Re: Trunkport LAN to LAN Bridge

Post by vpnnew123 » Mon May 14, 2018 7:53 am

I'm happy to provide more info if required. I googled I search the forum but couldn't find any good documentation on how to do the setup with VLANs and trunk ports.

vpnnew123
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 10:43 am

Re: Trunkport LAN to LAN Bridge

Post by vpnnew123 » Thu May 17, 2018 5:59 am

Problem solved. :)

The switchport that was configured as trunk was shutdown by the switch because of a misconfiguration. So to make it clear in order for 802.1q to work there is no special configuration on the SoftEther side required. Both ports where the local bridge connect to have to be trunk ports. It's best to first test the connectivity of the two switches without SoftEther local bridge in between. If this works it will work with SoftEther out of the Box. :)

Post Reply